05/25/14 — Annual Visual Arts Awards recognize students, teacher

View Archive

Annual Visual Arts Awards recognize students, teacher

By From staff reports
Published in News on May 25, 2014 1:50 AM

The Mount Olive Middle School art teacher was named Art Educator of the Year for 2013-14, and student artists in Wayne County Public Schools were recognized at the annual Visual Arts Awards recently held at Herman Park Center.

Karen Helms is this year's Zeno Spence Art Educator of the Year. For 23 years, the district has sponsored the event in cooperation with the Arts Council of Wayne County.

Students recognized in the category of "Superintendent's Choice Art" for students in K-12 included the following:

Grades K-2: David Best, Carver Heights School, first place; and Tatianna Fonseca of North Drive Elementary, second place.

Grades 3-5: Madalyn Craig, Rosewood Elementary and Aurora Smith, Northwest Elementary, first place; Vismitha Taneti of Eastern Wayne Elementary, second place; and Fernando Maquedo-Luna of Fremont STARS Elementary, third place.

Grades 6-8: Edgar Tinajero of Brogden Middle School, first place; Jose Lujano Lopez of Mount Olive Middle, second place; and Joel Ayala of Eastern Wayne Middle, third place.

Grades 9-12: Tanesha McCleen of Southern Wayne High, first place; Jesse Daly of Spring Creek High, second place; and Heather Dupree of Rosewood High, third place.

The Superintendent's Choice Art will be displayed for a year along the hallways of the district's administrative offices on Royall Avenue.

The other visual art award recipients recognized included the following:

*Christmas Card -- Ashley Duran of Rosewood High.

*Scholastic Art Gold Key -- Megan Ruggery, Lisa Spengler and Hannah Wiser, all of Eastern Wayne High; and Katherine Snow of Spring Creek High.

*Scholastic Art Silver Key -- Arilyn McCoy of Spring Creek High.