06/19/14 — Wayne County Public Schools recognize 62 retirees

View Archive

Wayne County Public Schools recognize 62 retirees

By Staff Reports
Published in News on June 19, 2014 1:46 PM

Sixty-two retirees were recognized recently for their service to Wayne County Public Schools.

The annual reception was held Friday at the Goldsboro Country Club, with each recipient presented with a plaque of appreciation.

This year's event was especially bittersweet for the district superintendent, Dr. Steven Taylor, as he recognized three administrative leadership team members' retirements during the school year.

"Dr. Craig McFadden, Olivia Pierce and Nan Barwick were all high-caliber professionals in their fields, and their experience, passion and friendship will be missed," he said. "I wish them all the very best in their retirements."

The latest round of retirements equated to a cumulative 1,324 years employed by the district and a total of 1,531 years worked in the education profession.

Retirees included:

Carver Elementary: Margaret Anderson, instructional assistant

Charles B. Aycock High: Paula Bartels, teacher; Carol Frederick, teacher; and Sharon Rathbone, bookkeeper

Dillard Middle: Joseph Brinson, custodian; Darnella McInis, teacher; and Richard Sugg, instructional assistant

Eastern Wayne Elementary: Thad Artis Jr., custodian

Eastern Wayne Middle: Paige Nunn, counselor

Eastern Wayne High: Ramona Dunkley, media coordinator; and Dallas Montague, teacher

Edgewood: Ida Odom, child nutrition; and Iris Weeks, instructional assistant

Goldsboro High: Richard Melvin, JROTC instructor

Grantham: Terri Kornegay, teacher

Meadow Lane Elementary: Sherrie Cogdell, teacher; Susan Dodson, teacher; Hope Ham, media assistant; Vernell Harper, instructional assistant; and Donna Retcher, instructional assistant

Mount Olive Middle: Belinda Olliver, teacher

North Drive Elementary: Delphia Hucks, instructional assistant; and Joyce Waters, secretary

Northeast Elementary: Karen Mzyk, teacher; Terry Smith, instructional assistant; Peggy Starling, teacher; and Donna Stewart, teacher

Northwest Elementary: Nona Lynn Christian, guidance counselor; and Vivian Lamm, media coordinator

Norwayne Middle: Lonnye Pearson, teacher

Rosewood Elementary: Marie Batten, teacher; Merle Elam, teacher; Betsy Lawhorn, teacher; Toni Morant, instructional assistant; and Mary Wright, instructional assistant

Rosewood High: Connie Brown, child nutrition; Linda Franks, teacher; Barbara Merritt, teacher; and Dena Whitley, social worker

Rosewood Middle: Sara Arnette, teacher

School Street Elementary: Dorothy Howell, bus driver/custodian; Rhetta Hudson, instructional assistant; Herlene Lewis, child nutrition; and Jerrie Thomas, bookkeeper and data manager

Southern Wayne High: Betty Shaw, teacher

Spring Creek Elementary: Diane Best, teacher; Robin Narron, teacher: and Beverly Sutton, teacher

Spring Creek High: George Mewborn III, teacher; and Felix Pollard Jr., teacher

Tommy's Road Elementary: Jean Gardner, teacher; and Sherie Metz, instructional assistant

Wayne Academy: Jesse Williams, teacher

Other departments: Durwood Bailey Jr., maintenance; Nan Barwick, assistant superintendent, finance; James Ham Jr., maintenance; Dr. Craig McFadden, assistant superintendent, accountability/student services; Olivia Pierce, executive director, information/technology services; Israel-Bud Reid, maintenance; Elfreda Robinson, exceptional children's department; Teresa Smith, exceptional children's department; and George Williams, bus driver.