06/22/14 — Wayne County Public Schools sets summer schedule

View Archive

Wayne County Public Schools sets summer schedule

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on June 22, 2014 1:50 AM

Now that all the public schools are out for the summer, district offices will shift into the annual summer flex schedule.

From June 16 through Aug. 15, Wayne County Public Schools will operate on a 10-hour day, four-day work week, with offices closed on Fridays.

The school system's administrative offices, along with the child nutrition department and exceptional children's department, will be open Monday through Thursday, 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Hours of operation will vary for each of the district's 31 schools and other departments.

The following will be open from 6 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: Carver Elementary, Carver Heights, Eastern Wayne Elementary, Rosewood Middle and Tommy's Road Elementary.

Spring Creek High School summer hours will be from 6:30 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Hours of operation will be from 7 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Brogden Middle, Brogden Primary, Charles B. Aycock High, Eastern Wayne High, Eastern Wayne Middle, Fremont STARS, Grantham, Greenwood Middle, Meadow Lane Elementary, Mount Olive Middle, North Drive Elememtary, Northeast and Northwest elementary schools, Norwayne Middle, Rosewood elementary and high schools, School Street Elementary, Southern Wayne High, Spring Creek Elementary

Dillard Middle, Goldsboro High and Wayne Academy will observe hours of 7 a.m. until 6 p.m. Edgewood Community Development School will be open from 7:30 a.m. until 6:30 p.m.

Because the county's two non-traditional high schools, Wayne Early/Middle College High and Wayne School of Engineering, operate on a separate school calendar, their four-day workweek will be in effect through July 25.

The district began implementing a flex schedule in 2006 to cut operation expenses over the summer. Offices will also be closed on Thursday, July 3, in observance of the Fourth of July holiday.

For a complete list of summer hours by department, visit waynecountyschools.org.