04/13/14 — County students to show off choral skills in Tuesday concert

View Archive

County students to show off choral skills in Tuesday concert

By From staff reports
Published in News on April 13, 2014 1:50 AM

Approximately 300 choral students from Wayne County Public Schools will join their voices and musical talents on Tuesday evening for the district's 2014 All County Choral Festival at 6:30 p.m. at Goldsboro High School. The event is free and open to the public.

The choral festival will be divided into three programs, which will be performed by elementary, middle, and high school students. An accomplished professional will direct each group of singers. The elementary and middle choruses will be directed by Sally Albrecht, a choral composer and clinician, and Andy Beck, director of school choral, classroom and vocal publications for Alfred Music. The high school chorus will be directed by Dr. Andrew Crane, director of choral activities at East Carolina University.

Wayne County Board of Education member Rick Pridgen will serve as the master of ceremonies.

Choral directors from each of the 28 area schools represented selected the participating students for their vocal ability and work ethic. Musical selections will include "One World," "Clap Your Hands, Rejoice!," "The Moon," "If I Only Had a Brain," "Furacha (Joy!)," "Jazz Cantate," "Moses and Daniel," "Let There Be Peace," "Sing dem Herrn Praetorius," "Ascribe to the Lord," "Hold Fast to Dreams" and "I'm Gonna Rise When the Son Comes Down." For the finale, all of the performers, elementary through high school, will come together to perform "Reach for the Stars."

The following WCPS music teachers and chorus directors have worked for weeks preparing students for this event: Michelle Walker of Brogden Primary, Jerome Powers of Brogden Middle, LaVone Hicks of Carver Elementary, Kevin Alston of Carver Heights Elementary and Mount Olive Middle, Isaac Bruton of Charles B. Aycock High and Goldsboro High, Victoria Ruffin of Dillard Middle, Weil Sawyer of Eastern Wayne Elementary, Dallas Montague of Eastern Wayne High, Kenneth "Skip" Morris of Eastern Wayne Middle, Micky Anderson of Edgewood Community Developmental School and School Street Elementary, Jim Grant of Fremont STARS Elementary, Jaime Cox of Grantham School, Winnie Wong of Greenwood Middle, Matilda Marriner of Meadow Lane Elementary, Jean Milleson of Northeast Elementary, Denise Dupree of North Drive Elementary, Sharon Caughron and Hannah Moore of Northwest Elementary, Tiffany Kilgore of Norwayne Middle, Denise Tilden of Rosewood Elementary, Lisa West of Rosewood High and Rosewood Middle, Karen Peele of Spring Creek Middle, Jason Cox of Southern Wayne High, Andrew C. Madlon of Spring Creek High and Betty Grantham of Wayne Early Middle/High College.